Sweet Worries

Oh, my dear Mother. I spoke to Granny the day before yesterday and let her know not to expect us to take home great gobs of sweets after our early Thanksgiving dinner this weekend. My Mom likes to make sweets and I hate to say no to her, especially when it comes to baked sugar bombs.

When the Missus was pregnant with October she craved apples. Spotz got mucho de Buddy’s Bar-b-que. Lugnut… I don’t remember. But with this current baby it’s sweets galore. You can imagine that Granny is complicit in the indulgence of the Missus’ sweet tooth.

So I thought all was clear with me mum after that phone conversation. Then the Missus tells me that Granny has bought two different kinds of ice cream for the kids. Granny informed me yesterday that she’s going to make brownies. Don’t forget that there will be the obligitory Thanksgiving pie.

Now, after a boy bath break, I realize there are some control issues going on here. I want Granny to fix a meal that doesn’t present a thousand problems, but its her house right? She can cook what she wants and I can eat what I want or don’t want. Why am I worrying and frustrated over problems that haven’t occurred?

~ by The Bosphorus on November 16, 2006.

Leave a comment